Managing Medications Part 2: Cost/Assistance

Standard

Once you are diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis (RA) and/or other autoimmune (AI) diseases you will quickly become overwhelmed with the cost of medication treatment regardless of payment status unless you are independently wealthy. In this article, I hope to give you some practical advice to help you manage those costs. There is help out there, but you need to be a detective. It isn’t always easy to find and there are plenty of scammers waiting to take advantage of your venerability, lack of knowledge about patient assistance, and capitalize on your fear.

The most extravagant cost in the treatment of RA or other autoimmune disease are the injectable biologic and infusible chemotherapy agents. The cost can be upwards to $10,000 and $30,000 per year on average, often costing thousands in co-payments. Currently, my Rituxan treatment is $16,000 per infusion for four infusions per year costing $64,000 per year which is three times my Social Security income. Without assistance from the foundation for the oncology office where I receive my infusion on my Medicare co-pay, I could not afford this treatment. I praise God for this assistance because in seven years of seeking treatment for RA, Rituxan is the only drug to have a significant impact on my symptoms.

If you have commercial insurance, the best place to start for co-pay assistance is the website for the medication and/or the drug manufacturer of the drug you have been prescribed. Often, they have co-pay assistance cards with online applications or applications you can print and send to your doctor. Sometimes the doctor will hand you a co-pay card or brochure in the office, but that may not always be the case. Do your homework. I used these cards when I was commercially insured when prescribed both Enbrel and Humira for a significant cost savings. If you are underinsured, there may be a different program to get the cost of your drug covered. Don’t stop at the discount card program, but look deeper or talk to a customer service representative to see if there is an assistance program for you. I was able to get my Orencia prescription at not cost to myself because I was underinsured and qualified for a mail-order prescription program directly from their patient assistance program.

Medicare patients will often find themselves not eligible for drug discount card or manufacturer assist. You will need to read the fine print on the card or on the manufacturer website to verify coverage. Should you not be eligible for assist on your first inquiry don’t give up. As I stated in the paragraph above: search the manufacturer website and/or call customer service and ask if there is a payment assistance program for you as a Medicare recipient. Sometimes these drug manufacturers have foundations to help with drug costs for Medicare patients. Genentech provided my Actemera injections free of cost for a year while I was on Medicare because I met their income guidelines and was persistent in searching for help beyond the initial offering.

Uninsured patients may have a more difficult time finding coverage for injectable or infusible drugs. Some states have extended Medicaid coverage that may help, but the majority do not. In my home state, of Oklahoma, you have to be so far below the poverty line you are practically homeless to get Medicaid only benefits unless you have a qualifying illness such as renal disease requiring dialysis or certain types of cancer. RA and other AI disease are not covered. Still, follow the recommended advise above because drug manufacturers will often have foundations to cover the uninsured but it is rare as the Affordable Care Act requires some type of health care coverage.

Beware of drug assistance programs that over broad percentages off your total prescription cost or offer to help you find the aforementioned assistance programs. Many of these sites look free but they will charge a recurring fee on your credit card and are nearly impossible to get out of without cancelling your card, stopping payment at the bank, etc. I personally do not recommend these because if they are legitimate, they most likely will not cover the cost of injectable or infusible drugs but are reserved for commonly prescribed oral prescriptions.

If you find you can’t manage the overall cost of your co-pay or find yourself uninsured and need help, please check the following websites. These are ligitamate help sites; however, given the time of the year you seek assistance, they may be out of funds for your disease or medication. Check back periodically or speak with a patient care advocate for an estimate of when they will receive funding or if the program is being cut.

  • The Assistance Fund – tafcares.org
  • PAN Foundation – panfoundation.org
  • Caring Voice – caringvoice.org
  • Patient Advocate – patientadvocate.org

As of July 28, 2017, the following websites offer assistance for the medication listed:

  • Enbrel  – enbrel.com/support/sign-up
  • Humira – humira.com/humira-complete/cost-and-copay
  • Cimzia – cimzia.com/signup
  • Xeljanz – pfizerpro.com/products/xeljanz/ra/support/cost-assistance-programs
  • Orencia – orencia.bmscustomerconnect.com/orencia-co-pay-assistance
  • Remicade – janssenprescriptionassistance.com
  • Actemera – Genentech-access.com
  • Rituxan – Genentech-access.com

In addition to these tips, do always check with your pharmacist to see if they are aware of any patient assistance for medications. Your pharmacist may not be able to help you with injectable or infusible medications for RA, but he/she may be able to direct you to assistance for other oral medication supporting your autoimmune diagnosis. For example, during a time I was underinsured my pharmacist helped me get a very pricy anti-depression medication through the $4/month program at Wal-Mart.

I also receive “Extra Help” on my drug costs through Social Security. Depending on your income and expenses, you may receive a certain percentage of help. Although I receive 20% help on my prescription costs in combination with Medicare, this qualification eliminates the donut hole which is a substantial cost savings! When discussing this with other Social Security recipients, I find they do not know about this help. You can check it out at  https://www.ssa.gov/medicare/prescriptionhelp/. This webpage will also help you find your state advocate for helping you determine the Medicare Part D program during the enrollment period that covers the majority of your drug costs and it is completely free.

About Mischelle Jackson

I am a middle aged, single lady living with Rheumatoid Arthritis and other chronic illness which have led me into early retirement from a nursing career. I have a fur-baby, Jaycee, a Chihuahua, who makes me laugh and helps me get out of myself when I'm having a bad day. I crochet for relaxation when the RA allows. My faith sustains me.

Leave a Reply

